top of page

Highland Escape

So folks I thought I would write up a small post on my City Adventurer escape over the Easter bank holiday.

No matter how many times I go to the highlands I’m still mesmerised by the sheer beauty and magnificence of the place. It doesn’t matter what time of year I go, every season is as the next, summer and spring give you spectacular shades of green and blue sky, winter gives you snow topped peaks and river torrents down the valleys, reminiscent of being in the Alps, while autumn stuns you with stunning colour contrasts.

Anytime is a good time to go!

This time around it was the beginning of spring where the snow is still on the mountain tops but the crocus’ are beginning to flower further down the glen.

Before I know it I’m putting my out of office head on and I’m out the door to catch the short flight from Gatwick to Inverness, the gateway to the highlands. From there its just an hour’s drive down Loch Ness and you’re in another place, remote Scotland and one of Britain’s last remaining true wildernesses.

Rucksack packed and a mere step out the door I’m in the wilds of the mountain glen. The path slowly progressing, through an amazingly varied landscape from ancient pine forest, hidden lochs to cascading streams in full flood from the melting mountain snow.

Amazingly I come across an abandoned osprey nest whose occupants have migrated south for the winter. The sheer size of the nest is incredible, like something out of the lost world, one can’t help but get the feeling that at any point a pterodactyl will emerge from the sky! I can’t wait to see these impressive birds of prey again in the summer when they’re back from their African excursion.

The next day I’m properly settled in to the rugged environment and take a different route, This time up the other side of the glen.

Again I find myself walking through beautiful ancient pine woodland that hasn’t changed in hundreds of years. What then emerges seemingly from nowhere is like something out of a Lord of the Rings film and not something you would think you could find in the UK. The most incredible 100 ft drop waterfall.

After a snack and a drink I move further up the glen where I’m surrounded by Munro’s. Munro’s are Scottish mountains with a summit of more than 3,000ft and there are 282 of them spread across the country.

The terrain now starts to get a bit heavier underfoot as it becomes boggy and the trail peters out now I truly feel I’m in open wilderness without sight of another human in any direction. This is when it’s important to know where you are at all times. I never walk without a map or a compass as you can never predict when the Scottish weather might turn. Poor visibility can set in at any moment when low cloud rolls in, even on well know walking tracks this can be dangerous without the correct kit.

I come across a rapid river, which I need to cross to complete my route. I take my time looking for the safest place to cross. Safely negotiated, I hold on for a moment to take in the dual sense of majesty and tranquillity the highlands have to offer.

I finally start my descent carefully reflecting on the day’s adventure in the sad knowledge that the long weekend is coming to an end and that I’ll be back in the big smoke the next day. But I remind myself that all this grandeur and wilderness is just on my door-step and within easy reach. This puts a smile back on my face as I think of what I’ll see next time I’m up here.

City Adventurer Tips:

  • Knowledge of how to navigate with a compass and map

  • Take a mate

  • Plan a route before hand

  • Bring the outdoor essentials


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page